Please note, the MCC Museum remains temporarily closed due to refresh works and will reopen in mid-2021.The Melbourne Cricket Club Museum – a magnificent, world-class facility that showcases the rich history of the club and the ground it manages – was officially opened on November 15, 2006.
Located on Level B1 of the Members Pavilion, the 400-square metre MCC Museum has more than 1500 artefacts on display.
The centrepiece is the story of the mythical Ashes, where the club’s outstanding collection of related memorabilia includes the famous Blackham Ball and an exquisite silver “urn” from manager Frank Laver’s successful tour of England in 1909.
Visitors will revel in the breadth of the displays. The chronological exhibition features countless fascinating artefacts ranging from MCC secretary Major Ben Wardill’s military helmet holder (c.1900) to the US Marines’ flag that flew on Guadalcanal as the servicemen valiantly held the Japanese before repairing to the MCG for rest and recreation in 1943.
The first MCC Museum was established in 1969 and it was an integral part of the MCG Tours menu until the old Pavilion came down in 2003. The new facility takes MCG heritage activities to a new level. It is simply stunning.
The mix of artefacts, paintings, rare porcelain and items of cricketana is enchanting, and you don’t need to be a sports buff to enjoy the experience.