06 July, 2023

New-look BBL|13 fixture locked in

The Big Bash League (BBL) fixture for 2023/24 has been confirmed – with the MCG set to host four Melbourne Stars matches in the new-look season.

The condensed 40-match fixture – which sees teams now play 10 matches each during the regular season - officially begins on Thursday December 7 in Brisbane, with the MCG schedule kicking off on Wednesday December 13 in a tough contest against the reigning premiers, the Perth Scorchers.

The new-year at the ‘G begins with the Melbourne Derby against cross-town rivals, the Melbourne Renegades, before matches against the Sydney Sixers and Hobart Hurricanes to finish the regular season.

The also-updated Finals Series begins on Friday January 19, with the Final to be held on Wednesday January 24. The four-match finals structure now sees the top four teams progress through to the Finals Series, in contrast to the five match series seen since BBL|09.

MCC member arrangements for BBL|13 and the two international cricket matches at the MCG will be announced in due course.

MCG BBL matches

  • Wednesday December 13 – Melbourne Stars v Perth Scorchers
  • Tuesday January 2 – Melbourne Stars v Melbourne Renegades
  • Saturday January 6 – Melbourne Stars v Sydney Sixers
  • Monday January 15 – Melbourne Stars v Hobart Hurricanes